Concluding thoughts on the course

I can honestly say that going into this course my expectations were different. This is not to say the course didn’t met my expectations, but rather that I approached the course expecting romance in the more literal sense (even in spite of reading the course description before registration, when asked by family and friends about the course I was about to take, I would say we were going to read romance novels originally written in languages other than english – that seems like such a silly and wholly incorrect way for me to describe the course in reflection). However, I am glad that we explored outside the romance genre of novels. I’ve come away from this course with a much richer understanding of styles of literature and even some world history and culture.  

When we’re talking about patterns of commonality and difference, I can’t help but relate this to my personal experiences of what I do and don’t relate to in the novels we’ve read. For example, I found myself relating to relationships with a step-parent within ‘Bonjour Triste’ or competing feelings between love and jealousy within ‘My Brilliant Friend.’ On the other hand, I was not able to relate to any of the stories we’ve read that involve the difficulty of navigating war and poverty within novels like ‘Time of the Doves.’ Reading books like ‘Times of the Doves’ has really given me more insight into the privilege I’ve had throughout my life. While everything we’ve read has been fictional, there remains elements of personal truth and reflection of historical circumstances in them all. This reinforces that fictional books have just as much to teach as non-fiction. 

In reflection of this course style, I really loved it. I felt like I could just enjoy what I was reading and learnt more as a result. I particularly learnt more by having open class discussions and reading the insights of my peers as opposed to being forced to read overly complicated academic journals or reports I tend not to fully understand. 

I would also like to thank Professor Beasly-Murrary and our TAs Patricio and Jennifer. Your conjoined work to give us feedback and comments on all of our blog posts made this course feel much more personable and engaging. 

My question to my classmates: What novels did you relate to most? What novels did you relate to least? Did you learn more from the novels you did relate to or the ones you did not?

6 responses to “Concluding thoughts on the course”

  1. Jennifer Nagtegaal Avatar
    Jennifer Nagtegaal

    Thanks for your final thoughts and kind words, Mackenzie. It has been a pleasure! And I have added your final questions to our “Concluding Questions” post here: https://rmst202.arts.ubc.ca/concluding-questions/

    Like

  2. Hey Mackenzie, I agree that the effort put in by Jon, Patricio, and Jennifer to engage with all our posts and in-class definitely made this class feel worth the work! I found ‘Nada’ by Carmen Laforet to be the most relatable to me since I also left my family to come here for school when I was 18, so reading about her adapting to her new life was something I could relate to! Thanks for all your insight this term 🙂

    Like

  3. “I found myself relating to relationships with a step-parent within ‘Bonjour Triste’ or competing feelings between love and jealousy within ‘My Brilliant Friend.’ On the other hand, I was not able to relate to any of the stories we’ve read that involve the difficulty of navigating war and poverty within novels like ‘Time of the Doves.’”
    I actually echo this sentiment completely; certain narratives have allowed me the opportunity to reflect on my own privilege, while others I can definitely relate to more closely (for example, I relate to ‘Bonjour Tristesse’ for the exact same reason as you). Thanks for your post!

    Like

  4. Hi, great blog post! I also agree that our professor and the TAs should be much appreciated for delivering such fun and interactive lectures this term. I think I can relate to “My Brilliant Friend” the most since I have many similarities with Lila and reading the novel is like looking through my own past. Thanks for the summary, good luck on your finals!

    Like

  5. “I’ve come away from this course with a much richer understanding of styles of literature and even some world history and culture”

    I agree! I feel like we learned so much history as well in this course which I didn’t expect. It made the reading much more connected to real life.
    Regarding your question, I personally loved Amulet because I related to Auxilios outlook on life and how she almost lives inside her head. On the other hand I couldn’t quite engage with The Passion According to G.H as the narrative felt seriously objective.

    Great Post!
    -Anna V

    Like

  6. Hi Mackenzie! I thought the friendship between Elena and Lila had some aspects that I could relate with. The idea of healthy competition to be better versions of themselves, but it has never gotten to a point where it becomes unhealthy.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started