A reflection of Argon’s “Paris Peasant”

Going into this novel, all I knew of it was that it is considered one of the major works of surrealism. Knowing very little about this concept, I searched it up in the context of literature. I primarily found it to refer to the attempt of an author to merge reality and imagination. If this definition is correct, I found it relatively difficult to identify within Paris Peasant when the narrator did not mention it directly. To me, it reads as more of a man’s account of Paris changing and evolving throughout time alongside some of his personal experiences. I could not discern where the narrator describing his empirical observations ended and his imagination began (I would imagine in a surrealist novel that it should be easier to make such a distinction). 

Being unable to identify surrealist perspectives in this novel makes me question whether I truly understand the concept itself. The narrator directly mentions surrealism on page 65/66, describing surrealism as “a new vice that has been born” that is the “unconcontrolled provocation of the image for its sake […]” that undergoes a process of metamorphosis to introduce itself to the “domain of representation.” The narrator further says that such an image will force an individual to “revise the entire universe.” Despite reading these two pages multiple times, I find it difficult to reach any comprehensive understanding of what the narrator is trying to convey. The diction used by the narrator is very technical and what I would describe as inaccessible for people that don’t have a solid knowledge of surrealism and accompanying theories.  

Something I didn’t like about this novel was made clear about halfway through when I realized that there was no central plotline. Without clear transitions, the narrator goes from talking about brothels and prostitution to changing landscapes in Paris to cafés or salons and their patrons. He even focuses on the effects of expropriation on the working class at one point in the novel. I understand the author was trying to explain a rapidly changing Paris, but everything he described felt disconnected and hard to follow. Additionally, I found the novel difficult to engage with or keep my attention without developed characters or a central plot. Towards the end of the novel, I concluded that what I read felt more like an essay of various empirical observations and philosophical propositions than a fiction book. 

Overall, a question I would pose to my classmates is as follows: do you feel like this novel gave you a proper understanding of the concept of surrealism? Or do you, like me, find it hard to make any significant conclusions about the importance of surrealist ideology? If you do understand, how would you define surrealism solely from what you’ve read in this novel? 

5 responses to “A reflection of Argon’s “Paris Peasant””

  1. Hey, Mackenzie, thanks for this. The first thing to say is that I do increasingly think (as I also said on Tuesday) that it may well help you guys to watch my lecture before you read the book.

    But I think that more importantly, what I see in your dissatisfaction with the book is a question of your expectations not being met. Which (as I also said in my lecture on Proust) might give you ground to think again about those expectations.

    For instance, what if you came into your reading without the hope that the book would tell you something about Surrealism… after all, why should it?

    I think you are closest to the point here: “I understand the author was trying to explain a rapidly changing Paris, but everything he described felt disconnected and hard to follow.” And maybe you might think how the first half of this observation is connected to the second. In other words, how “trying to explain a rapidly changing Paris” might also lead to the fact that “everything he described felt disconnected and hard to follow.”

    Or perhaps, to make things more concrete, you compared your experience walking (or taking the bus or driving) through Vancouver with Aragon’s attempt to describe his experience of Paris. What would happen if we attended to the many changes affecting our own city (even UBC… so much construction!) in the same way Aragon pays attention to everything going on in his city? How would we try to document such transformations?

    Like

  2. Oh, and one other small thing… you put this in the category “Proust,” when you meant to put it in “Aragon.” 🙂

    Like

  3. Hi Mackenzie,

    I actually felt that the difficulty in differentiating reality and imagination/subconscious was what made this piece special. Surrealism is the bridging of reality and imagination as they are interconnected, which this text (from what I understand) does. I do agree with you in many aspects though. I find surrealism very confusing, especially because many of the google searches I have done on it have led me to very strange pieces of artwork… If you haven’t taken a look yet, brace yourself, search “surrealism” and click on images. I feel like it’s quite unsettling. I didn’t feel like the idea of surrealism was very obvious in this book, especially because it doesn’t provide a definition. That is, I do not think that this text has provided me with a better understanding of surrealism, but I also can somewhat see that there is a mush of reality and imagination here. Great post, I really enjoyed reading it!

    Like

  4. Hi Mackenzie, thanks for your post. I completely agree with you about the confusion about surrealism. However, I think the author utilizes a “surreal” tone throughout the novel without defining the concept itself clearly. The descriptions of locations in the first two sections often contradict common sense, and the narrator’s deeper psychoanalysis is also added in between. Furthermore, the last section of the novel goes beyond geographical imagination to a full extent and discusses some deep and complicated philosophical concepts instead. In my opinion, we struggle to understand surrealist ideas after getting used to reality.

    Like

  5. Hi Mackenzie, thanks for sharing your thoughts! I also found it difficult that there wasn’t a clear and easy plot to follow, but I found my enjoyment came from the interesting philosophical insights made by Aragon. I hadn’t read any surrealist literature before this piece but I found this novel did an effective job at reflecting on the thought processes behind surrealism and how abstract qualities (like imagination) can influence our empirical world. I think the value of surrealist ideology comes from the discontentment Aragon felt about Paris’s changing landscape as it gave in to a more materialistic and rational society. Surrealism feels to me like a way of holding on to the enchanted and magical aspects of our human experience and finding peace and contentment in not knowing all the answers about our reality, instead of succumbing to a world of logic and error and machines. I’m not too sure if I am on the right track, but I am looking forward to our discussions in class this week, so many ideas to develop! (Anna Mote)

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started