RMST 202 Introduction

 

Hi everyone!

My name is Mackenzie Dewar-Pratt. I’m in my second year at UBC and intend to major in Political Science and minor in Law and Society. I primarily grew up in Vancouver but also lived in Dubai for a couple years. During my time in Dubai, I thankfully had a lot of opportunity to travel (which is my favourite thing to do and something I hope I get to do a lot more of following graduation).

While deciding what class I should take to fulfill my literature requirement, I was very drawn to this class. I really like the idea of doing more literature based readings because as a Political Science major, a lot of the reading I do is very content heavy and boring. I really love reading and before starting at university I used to do it far more often. I like the idea of reading books that are originally written in a language other than English because as a solely English speaker, I feel like I often miss out on a lot of great literature. The first translated novel I read was ‘The Stranger’ by Albert Camus (which was translated to English from French). This novel quickly became one of my favourites and largely introduced me to a new genre of literature.

Something I’m looking forward to in this class is developing my analytical skills, which greatly improves the more I read. In any arts major, specifically social sciences, analytical skills are important to both succeeding both academically and in the ‘real world’.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started